Rental Partner
close
Basic Information
close
  • Room Type:Private Room
  • Bedrooms:1
  • Bathrooms:3
  • Max Guests:6
  • Min Stay:7
  • Pets Allowed:Yes
Amenities
close
  • cot available
  • balcony
  • family-friendly
  • refrigerator / freezer
  • gay-friendly
  • heating
  • parking
  • pets allowed
  • shower/bath
  • smoking allowed
  • washing machine
  • wifi (wireless lan)
  • professionally managed
    FROM: $56 $390 $1672


    #6 Crossroads Rundown Guesthouse

    Sydney

    Description

    ****Crossroads Guesthouse only opened October 2012. Please read the description below and contact me before booking so I can confirm prices and dates. You'll note our monthly rates are much cheaper than weekly rates as we prefer medium-longer term guests.****
    There are 10 bedrooms in total, two kitchens, three bathrooms and some rooms have their own showers. The smallest rooms can sleep two and the largest rooms can take six in dorm style, or a small family. There is a coin operated washing machine and dryer on site. There may be up to 20 people in the guesthouse sharing all facilities and everybody is expected to help keep kitchens and bathrooms clean.
    Room 6 is a giant room that is carpeted. It does have multiple windows facing the highway and it is one of the noisiest rooms in the house if all windows are open. But you can have large groups of friends in this room – five or six if needed, although four is a good size not to be too crowded. It also suits families. It has a trio set of bunks (double on the bottom, single on top) as well another set of single bunks and more beds can be set up. It has an extra large study desk, a small fridge and freezer and some storage space.
    The guesthouse is above a shop in the warehouse/industrial area close to Sydney Airport and it is on the corner of some very busy streets. If you find noise in the house is an issue you can ask for free earplugs but most people get used to it very quickly. There is street parking behind the building.
    Although the actual block the guesthouse is on is very ugly and so is the immediate area, it is a fantastic location if you are adventurous and prepared to walk a bit, or use public transport. It's less than 5kms from the airport — a taxi is very cheap to the house.
    It's is also only 5kms from University of Sydney and UTS. It's 8kms from University of New South Wales and buses to both places take less than half an hour. We are fifteen minutes walk from St Peters or Sydenham train stations (1.5kms) but the buses are directly outside the door so you should experiment to see what you prefer – you can buy a weekly ticket that works on buses and trains. It's about 6kms to Central Station in the city. We are also only about 4kms from RPA Hospital.
    You are less than five minutes walk to a small shop, a Hungry Jacks(Burger King), a KFC and a McDonalds. Opposite the house is a pub with restaurant, events,music and cheap drinks. Fifteen minutes walk takes to you a beautiful big parkland area with a cafe, or to the local shopping centre of Marrickville with the nearest big supermarket.
    Thirty minutes walk or a short bus ride takes you to some very cool shops and bars in Marrickville(Marrickville Rd) or Newtown(King St). It would take you 20 minutes to drive to the beaches or an hour by public transport. And if that's not enough you can take a 20 min walk (2 minute bus) trip to the biggest IKEA in the Southern Hemisphere just down the road from us.
    Rooms do not have TVs and there is no common lounge or dining area. We do provide free fast wifi Internet across the house. We are best suited to be either a “crash pad” for travellers who are out most of the day and don't need common areas or for students who will be spending a lot of time in their rooms studying or working. There is no reception desk so this guesthouse is suitable for independent travellers who do not need much assistance. This is by no means a party place – if you would like a more social atmosphere with common areas and a backyard look at my other listings for Scruffy Old Campsie Guesthouse.
    We are child friendly and can provide cots, highchairs, stroller/pram and toys for most ages of children. Families are best in Room 6 or Room 9 which are larger with their own dining tables and a bit more space. I can also provide babysitting at an additional charge.
    I do not live in the guesthouse but can be contacted if there are problems and I do try to meet new guests. I provide a professional cleaning company once a week to clean common areas, along with all bills paid, all kitchen and bathroom supplies and hotel quality linen which is washed for you every two weeks. Think of it like a giant share house but with less hassle and a few more perks.
    This is a great opportunity for backpackers, workers, families and students who want private lockable rooms in the Inner West with free use of multiple kitchens and bathrooms and who understand that the rundown nature of the guesthouse means cheap rooms!

    You May Also Like...

    • $57 / night0 bed / 0 bathSydney, AU
      Ultra-Convenient in Sunny Sydney
      <p><span>A great place to stay during your visit to Sydney! Located in the heart of Rockdale, a suburb only 13km south of Sydney's Central Business District (CBD). 2 minutes walk to Rockdale train station and bus interchange. 20 minutes on the train to Central Station. Direct bus (no. 400) to the airport in 10 minutes. 15 minutes walk to Brighton-le-sands beach on Botany Bay. Or stay on the train to Bondi Junction, then hop on a bus for a short ride to the famous Bondi Beach (about 40 minutes). Train going south in the other direction will take you right to Cronulla Beach.</span></p>
      <p><span>This furnished bedroom is equipped with two single beds which can also be pushed together and made up as a large king bed for a couple. The bedroom contains a large-built-in wardrobe, plus mirror, TV with built-in DVD player, dressing table and two bed lamps. It also has its own private ensuite bathroom with a large walk-in shower, sink and toilet.<br /></span></p>
      <p><span>Wi-fi throughout the apartment.</span></p>
      <p><span>Bedding, sheets and towels provided.&nbsp; Tell us what you like to eat for breakfast and we will make sure it is on hand, so you can get up and serve yourself in the mornings when it suits you.</span></p>
      <p><span>The bedroom opens on to a large balcony which has an outside picnic table and two benches, plus barbeque, and gets the afternoon/evening sun.</span></p>
      <p><span>Use of fully-equipped kitchen, living/dining open plan area, plus laundry in the apartment.</span></p>
      <p><span>This apartment complex is only ten years old and very well maintained. You will have use of the outdoor pool in the complex, plus the community garden with large lawn, downstairs BBQ area and gym. This is a security building.</span></p>
      <p><span>If you have a car, there is an option to rent one of the two garage spaces under the building that belong to this unit for an extra charge.</span></p>
      <p><span>Two blocks down the street, less than 10 minutes on foot, is a large shopping mall (Rockdale Plaza), which has two huge supermarkets and many other shops.</span></p>
      <p><span>This bedroom is part of a two bedroom/two bathroom apartment. The other bedroom is occupied by two students who use a separate bathroom.</span></p>
      <p><span>The total indoor size of the apartment is approx. 120 square meters. With the balconies front and back, total size is approx. 145 square meters.</span></p>
      <p><span>If you are arriving in Sydney by plane, depending on the time of your arrival, we may be able to pick you up at the airport, for an additional fee. If you are arriving by train, depending on your arrival time, we can meet you at Rockdale train station and walk with you to the apartment.</span></p>
      <p><span>Contact us setting out your requirements, dates, and a bit about yourself, and we can get back to you with a quotation for your stay.&nbsp; Note that pricing varies according to the period you are interested in, whether it is a holiday weekend, summer, school holidays, etc.&nbsp; Prices stated are the standard, low-season rates.<br /></span></p>
    • $57 / night0 bed / 0 bathSydney, AU
      Sunny renovated double room
      &nbsp;I have a recently renovated double room to offer in a townhouse which is conveniently located in the upcoming suburb of Marrickville with easy access by train and bus to Sydney City and the groovy inner west suburbs&nbsp;of Newtown, Enmore, Glebe, Leichhardt.&nbsp; The house is approximately twenty minutes by train to Sydney Central.<br><br>The bathroom, kitchen and living areas are clean and tidy and shared with two other permanent residents including myself. There is wifi access and space for parking if required. The property is located in a quiet area next to a river and parklands but is also very close to cafes, restaurants, bars and shopping in the surrounding areas.<br><br>The room can accommodate a single person or couple in a double bed. We look forward to hosting "new friends" from other parts of the world and learning about your lives too.<br><br>The room is available for short and long stays.<br><br>Please don't hesitate to ask if you have any questions about the room and/or property.<br><br>
    • $48 / night0 bed / 0 bathSydney, AU
      Beautiful room 10 minutes to city
      <span>Huge room with beautiful balinese 4 poster bed, ornate fireplace and ginormous built in wardrobes. <br /><br />Large, spacious home featuring big yard, large modern kitchen, laundry, big balcony with city views, wifi internet and free parking.<br /><br />Bus stop is 1 minute away with buses direct to city (20 minutes), Newtown (5 minutes), the beach, Sydney University (15 minutes), UTS (20 minutes). Sydenham train station is a 5-10 minute walk and takes 10 minutes to the city and 20 minutes to Bondi. Brighten le Sands beach is 10 minutes by car. There are a bunch of pubs, takeaways, cafes and shops within a few minutes walk. Ikea is across the road.<br /><br />You will share the house with friendly professionals aged 24-30 who enjoy sharing meals, drinks and good times. Social house but not a party house. Everyone works full time. This is a very happy, warm home environment. <br /></span>
      <p><span>&nbsp;</span></p>
      <p><span>&nbsp;</span></p>
    See All Sydney Vacation Rentals  »

    Send Inquiry

    Please fill out the form to inquire about this rental

    Use of Tripping.com constitutes acceptance of the Tripping Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
    Thank you! Your inquiry has been sent.

    Similar Properties in Sydney

    Using your search criteria, we found similar rentals for you. Click the button below and we'll send all the inquiries for you:

      Update Message to Host
      Hide Message

      Thanks for your inquiry!

      Head back to our search results to see all of Tripping's vacation rentals in Sydney. Happy travels!

      Tripping Terms of Useclose
      close
      Cancel OK